Puritan Quote

June 12, 2008

Every thing that a man leans upon but God, will be a dart that will certainly pierce his heart through and through. He who leans only upon Christ, lives the highest, choicest, safest, and sweetest life.

                                                                              – Thomas Brooks

I find it so easy to turn away from God and depend upon other things.  I lean upon myself and try to exert independence.  I rely upon my abilities and plans.  I rely upon my resources. 

 

I forget that all of these are gifts from God and can never replace the Giver.  How I must grieve the Father’s heart when I glorify the gift he gave and neglect the Giver. 

 

Remember that God alone deserves glory and praise.  God alone can provide the grace and mercy we need to truly live.  God alone gives us eternal life – eternal both in quantity and in quality.

Leave a Reply

