Puritan Quote

June 5, 2008

Do you mortify; do you make it your daily work; be always at it whilst you live; cease not a day from this work; be killing sin or it will be killing you.                                                                        – John Owen

 

As this is the inaugural posting of a weekly Puritan quote, I decided on a well known and well beloved quote from the pen of John Owen.  This quote is from Of the Mortification of Sinne in Believers published for the first time in 1656.

 

As I ponder this quote, I think that Owen might have added something more to this statement.  I understand that I am a poor scholar in comparison to this Puritan divine, but I stand by my thought.  The thought is that we are not only being killed by our sin, but that our sin also affects those around us.

 

There is no such thing as a victimless sin. 

First and foremost, sin offends God.  Secondly, we bear our sin.  Lastly, our sins are never committed in a vacuum.  Others are always affected.

 

My sin affects my relationship with God.  As such, my peace and contentment are at odds with my guilt and shame.  This state of mind affects all of my earthly relationships in addendum to my relationship with the Most High.

 

My challenge is that we begin to see sin as the repugnant evil that it truly is.  Furthermore, that we come to grips with the fact that sin destroys.  As we think on this, we must also take responsibility for how our sin affects others.

 

Let sin be called sin.  Let each man look to his relationship with God.  Let the same man be concerned for the relationships he has with others.

Leave a Reply

