Weekly Quote

June 1, 2008

The things you own end up owning you.

– Tyler Durden

 

I began thinking of this quote earlier in the week.  I love reading.  I love reading Stephen King books.  I just finished reading Needful Things.  Between Mr. King and the wise Mr. Durden, I found myself being reminded that I need not blindly pursue capitalism to make my dreams come true.

 

Kids embody extremes of capitalism.  They want everything they see (at least in any toy aisle).  They have no concept of enough.  Don’t believe me?  Think about tummy aches on November 1st.

 

The Bible says something about this as well…

Philippians 4:10-13 (King James Version)

Public Domain

10But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity.

11Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

12I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.

13I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

 

While many who know Mr. Durden might not believe it, he is espousing sound biblical doctrine.  We can become owned by our possessions, especially when we are not trusting ourselves to Jesus Christ. 

 

So, the challenge is…

 

Spend this week considering any capitalist impulse you may feel.  Perhaps you do not need as much stuff as you think you do.  Perhaps, you can get by with less and still have more.  The key to joy is not found in what we own, but in Who owns us.

Leave a Reply

